About the M3/G6 Real compatibility…

Thanks to some testing runned by Michoko, the source of the problems causing WTD not working with M3/G6 Real have been identified.

In fact, it is caused as I thought by the DLDI driver of those cards: they use quite some shared RAM, which is also used as working RAM by the arm7 binary. And as the arm7 core I use contains lots of things (Wifi lib + my new sound lib, supporting MP3), it’s also very tight in free RAM.

Then, the extra RAM used here by the DLDI driver of those cards cause the arm7 to crash, as there’s no more room for my audio lib to init… I may do something about it, but that will take some time (which I obviously don’t have :/)

In the meantime, you can blame the makers of those cards for using such non-standard way of allocating RAM space for their DLDI driver (they should have use the heap in main RAM like other manufacturers, not put it in the shared work RAM)…

~ by Noda on 18 March, 2008.

25 Responses to “About the M3/G6 Real compatibility…”

  1. Damn… at least we can always play through DSOrganize, which btw, works much faster that the M3 DS Real file browser. Did the M3 team brought a underpaid dimwitted to do the coding?

  2. How about updating the compatibility page?

  3. Hi, I have an “M3 perfecrt Lite” (Slot-2 / SD) and I have the same problem.
    I was able to play until the 0.4.

  4. i was also able to play untill this new realese came. 0.4 worked.

  5. wouldnt it work if we patched the ROM ourselfs?

  6. I’m using the M3 real and the new version works perfectly fine, i just have to run it using the GBA expantion pack and tell it to boot there.

  7. Slipurson, you can patch it yourself, but then you´ll have to avoid the M3 Real browser that autopatch and screws the game.

  8. I just run the .ds.gba one through my EZFlash 3in1 and it works good. So if anyone has an EZFlash 3in1, just use that.

  9. YOU should Make it work with oprea Ram expanstion pak so you can create more improvements

  10. but some ppl dont have ram expansion packs :)

  11. I have it but it´s not like this game would benefit a lot with a expansion pack, we are not talking about quake.

  12. I was able to launch WTD 0.5 from DSOrganize.nds on the M3 DS Real. I had the same problem once with Moonshell and read a forum mentioning this workaround. No expansion card needed and same setup as in the install manual.

  13. HOw do you get this

  14. yer i have a m3ds real and it gets stuck on the dldi loding screen

  15. jtaxx, what forum was it. i really want to play this game!

  16. Works perfect with my M3/G6 Real. Using NDS slot 2gb mini-SD.

  17. Well Thats Shity any Chance You Can Fix it or use a RAM pack at least?

  18. for all poor m3 ds real players
    open it with DSOrganizer and it will work!!!

  19. u know when this will work :DDD?

  20. you are inspiring us to write such a nice article well done keep it up thanks for sharing us .for free games try my blog usagamezone.blogspot.com

  21. yer i have a m3ds real and it gets stuck on the dldi loding screen
    crs-place.blogspot.com

  22. great work friend

  23. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is required to get setup? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a
    pretty penny? I’m not very web smart so I’m not 100% positive. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers

  24. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a blog
    website? The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit
    acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

  25. This is a great tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very accurate information… Thanks for sharing this one.
    A must read post!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

